"Did you know?" is posted for your educational and entertainment enrichment.
Posted: June 2, 2016
Did you know? Prior to April 6, 2016 it was a criminal violation for unmarried persons to live together as a couple? The penalty was a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail. #didyouknow
Posted: May 12, 2016
Did you know? Homestead protection can extend to the sale proceeds of the protected home from some creditors when 1) there is a good faith intent to purchase a new home within a reasonable time, 2) the home sale proceeds are kept separate from other funds 3) for the purpose of acquiring a new home. #Didyouknow
Posted: June 23, 2016
Did you know? Several proposed gun laws failed passage during the 2016 Florida Legislative Session:
OPEN CARRY (FAILED): It would have allowed more than 1.5 million people with concealed weapons licenses in Florida to carry those weapons openly in public areas or private businesses that allow it. (HB 163/SB 300)
GUNS ON CAMPUS (FAILED): it would have allowed people with concealed weapons licenses to carry concealed weapons on state college and university campuses. (HB 4001/SB... 68)
STAND YOUR GROUND (FAILED): It would have shifted the burden of proof in self-defense cases to prosecutors, who must prove why defendants could not use "stand your ground" law as defense. (HB 169/SB 344)
CONCEAL-CARRY IN AIRPORTS (FAILED): it would have allowed concealed-weapons permit-holders to carry concealed firearms in airport terminals or other non-"sterile" areas that aren't controlled by the federal Transportation Security Administration. (HB 4051/SB 1500) #didyouknow
Posted July 14, 2016
Did you know? It is a crime to knowingly and willfully misrepresent using a service animal and to be qualified to use a service animal. Likewise, it is illegal for establishments to deny public accommodations to persons with disabilities using a service dog. The punishment is equal for both violations: Up to 60 days in jail, $500.00 fine, and must complete 30 community service hours at an organization that serves persons with disabilities. #didyouknow Florida statute 413.08.
Posted: May 5, 2016
Did you know? A new Florida law that will become effective July 1, 2016 will shorten the time requirements for qualifying persons to have their criminal juvenile records expunged/destroyed. Starting next month, some 18 year olds can petition to have their criminal record expunged instead of waiting until turning 21 to file the request. In addition, the Criminal Justice Information Program will retain certain juvenile records until the person turns 21 instead of 26. This is a great law that will allow many young people to start their adulthood with a clean slate. #Didyouknow
Posted: May 19, 2016
Did you know? When you applied for and received a Florida driver's license you gave consent to submit to a chemical test to determine the blood alcohol level in your system. If an officer lawfully arrests you for driving under the influence of alcohol or other substance he must inform you about the "Implied Consent" law. There are consequences for not submitting to the test: 1 year driver's license suspension for the first refusal to submit to the test, 18 months driver's license suspension for subsequent refusals and jail time as the refusal then becomes a misdemeanor criminal offense after the first refusal. #didyouknow?
Posted: April 28, 2016
Did you know? A recently enacted Florida criminal law prohibits the recreational discharge of a firearm outdoors, including for target shooting or celebratory shooting, in primarily residential areas with a density of one or more dwelling units per acre. Exception: when the discharge of the firearm is for the purpose of legally defending life or property.